Things and Stuff

So I’ve let my blog languish, and now that Solstice and Christmas and New Year are around the corner, perhaps it’s a good time to take stock of what we’ve been up to here …

Liam crawls, and walks, and talks. Yes, the last developmental update was that he was almost crawling, but he quickly took off on all fours.  Two weeks before his first birthday, he delighted us all by walking across the kitchen one evening after Evan got home from work.  His vocabulary includes Mama, Dad, yeah, dog, more, and that.

I’m back on student mode.  I made the switch to part time consulting so that I could spend more time with Liam and go back to school to work toward my goals of being a doula, childbirth educator, and IBCLC.  I finished the coursework for the CBE certification through Aviva Institute and basically just need my certifying births to finish my doula certification through Birth Arts International.  I’m also slowly working my way through the coursework I need to sit for the IBCLC exam.  I aced Medical Terminology and Anatomy and Physiology 1, also through Aviva Institute, and start A&P 2 on January 3.  This also means that I’m currently in the process of writing a six week CBE curriculum.  More on that in another post …

Holidays! Grammy and Grandpa, along with Auntie and Uncles, came to visit for Thanksgiving.  We had an awesome dinner, busting out some new recipes in the crock pot and baking Martha Stewart’s carrot cupcakes for Liam’s first birthday.  The only thing that didn’t go according to plan was how the norovirus cascaded through the entire crew, including me.  We gave Grammy and Grandpa a donut pan as an early Christmas gift, and it looks like they are having lots of fun with it! We’re planning on visiting the Minnesota family for Christmas, and will hopefully be able to introduce Liam to some of our Twin Cities and central MN friends while we’re there.

I’m gonna work on giving this blog a bit more love as an early New Year’s resolution.  I’ve got lots of stuff to post about – CBE, knitting, thoughts on milk sharing.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

